An Idea to Wander Homeless

Make what you will of this piece, but I think it portrays the solitude and weariness of homelessness.
Make what you will of this scene, but I think it portrays the solitude and weariness of homelessness.

My mother said that she would open a homeless shelter, if she were to win the billion dollar lottery. Coincidentally, I had been musing about being homeless two days earlier. 

I asked my brother if we could be homeless after we graduate, and he replied that there is no reason to experience those conditions, especially when living in any condition eventually desensitizes your interest in it.

Both, I couldn’t argue. In fact, I find that the latter disarms my idea significantly. My only basis for rebuttal was an appeal to Free and Easy Wandering. Wouldn’t you want to wander the streets, just walking in every direction and watching Chaos from every direction? Yes, and No.

The emperor of the South Sea was called Shu [Brief], the emperor of the North Sea was called Hu [Sudden], and the emperor of the central region was called Hun-tun [Chaos]. Shu and Hu from time to time came together for a meeting in the territory of Hun-tun, and Hun-tun treated them very generously. Shu and Hu discussed how they could repay his kindness. “All men,” they said, “have seven openings so they can see, hear, eat, and breathe. But Hun-tun alone doesn’t have any. Let’s try boring him some!”

Every day they bored another hole, and on the seventh day Hun-tun died.


 

I hope you, reader, enjoyed this conversation between my brother and me. Consider following Tao Practiced for anecdotes like this and leaving your opinion on the matter.

Leave a Reply

