Taoist Musings: Philosopher’s Purpose

Lurking in shadows, always, is Master Tao. (Picture of "Sculpture at Tate Britain Art Gallery, taken by Rept0n1x)
Lurking in shadows, always, is Master Tao.
(Picture of “Sculpture at Tate Britain Art Gallery, taken by Rept0n1x)

Salve! In principio, Laudemus Tao(um).

Master Tao, I’ve seen the disdain for the hardships of the philosopher. Hardships such as gleaning the ideas from “magick” books. Then, there are those hardships which are so often mocked and strike my chest so, such as the difference between a bench and a philosopher, a bench being able to support a family. Hence, I cannot blame one for a ready retreat into hermitage. Indeed, I’d do the same, though not without shamelessly treating myself to welfare prior and call it Pious Tao’s sweet decree. Ah, yes— through The-Lord-That-Is-Tao, I see why so much jealousy a philosopher brings to his demeanor. Unlike his peers, his desire is steered by the elusive bliss of money stacks higher as his act of being such a profession enables the profoundly deepest desire in stacks dreamed even higher. “Anyone would want a rare appreciation like that of a philosopher to green, like that of a musician to music” —my dissertation’s secret thesis, which I weaned from Tao, the Sage-King.

Published by

Hui Ho

I attend the University of Rochester and plan on majoring in philosophy. I try to talk to many people about Taoism to see their perspective, but that often can't be done because most don't know what Taoism or eastern philosophy teach. So, I contribute to taopracticed.wordpress.com to help others know the merits of eastern philosophy, and more specifically the philosophy of Zhuangzi.

Leave a Reply

